Monday, March 14, 2011

The Matters at Mansfield (Or, The Crawford Affair) by Carrie Bebris

The Matters at Mansfield: Or, The Crawford Affair (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries)The Matters at Mansfield: Or, The Crawford Affair by Carrie Bebris

(From Inside Cover)

After their recent adventures with hidden treasure and secrets from the past, Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy are looking forward to enjoying a quiet spell at Pemberley with their new daughter, but their hoped-for peace is short-lived.

Darcy's aunt, Lady Catherine de Bourgh, is eager to arrange a lucrative and socially acceptable match for here daughter, Anne. Of course, Lady Catherine has not taken into account such frivolous mattes as love or romance, let alone the wishes of her daughter. Needless to say, there is much turmoil when the young bride-to-be elopes.

In pursuit of the headstrong young couple, the Darcys speed to Mansfield Park - where the usually intricate game of marriage machinations becomes even more convoluted by lies and deception. The Darcys know that love and marriage can be a complex and dangerous business - one that can even lead to murder.

Anne's betrothal is further complicated by codes of honor, rival lovers, and mistaken identity. The Darcys must sort out the matters at hand in a manner that is quiet enough to avoid a scandal - yet swift enough to avert disaster.

The Darcys take center stage as the Regency era's answer to The Thin Man's Nick and Nora, searching for truth between teatimes, amidst the social whirl of Jane Austen's England.

This book is the fourth book in "A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery" series. 

I give this book ★ ★ ★ ★ 

My Thoughts:

I love how this series keeps getting better and I can't wait to read the next book. This story is focused on Anne de Bourgh, daughter of Lady Catherine de Bourgh. "The Matters At Mansfield (Or, The Crawford Affair)" was an excellent book and I would highly recommend that anyone that has read the others in this series would make sure to read this one. It seems that with every new book I read in "A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery" series from Carrie Bebris the more I look forward to the next one. If you haven't read any of the books in this series, you should definetly start at the beginning.

 "A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery" series:
  1. Pride And Prescience (Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged) by Carrie Bebris
  2. Suspense And Sensibility (Or, First Impressions Revisited) by Carrie Bebris
  3. North By Northanger (Or, The Shades of Pemberley) by Carrie Bebris

Blogaholic Designs”=


Post a Comment